Who knew you could get paid to do that?

As a kid I was always looking up.  When we went on car trips that lasted in to the night I would sit in the back seat by myself (only child) and stare at the sky.  I would look for shooting stars, constellations and try to determine star from planet.  The moon mesmerized me.  The planetarium was my favorite field trip…well, Safety City, the miniature town where I learned how to stop – drop – and roll was my favorite, but the planetarium was my second favorite field trip.  So, it should be no surprise that I wanted to be an astronaut when I grew up.  I imagined sitting in the space shuttle on take-off.  I imagined it to be exactly like the Loch Ness Dragon, the roller coaster at Busch Gardens.

As I grew older I thought about being a teacher.  I loved playing school so much that I asked for a chalk holder for Christmas.  I still get giddy when looking at office supplies.

Then I went through a phase when I wanted to be a marine biologist.  Living in Virginia Beach I had plenty of exposure to the ocean and I loved dolphins and whales.  I even thought it would be really cool to go in a shark cage.

As a teenager I wanted desperately to be an actor on a soap opera.  I was sure that General Hospital needed a spunky new nurse.  Perhaps I could be nurse Amy’s long lost sister.

In college I met the man who is perfect for me, and I became an Army wife.  I have followed him around the world for more than twenty years.  Along the way I picked up a degree in Counseling Psychology.

I’ve wanted to be a writer, therapist, Tupperware salesperson, and a multitude of other jobs.  I’ve yet to decide what I really want to do when I grow up (Blogger?  Barista?).  The one thing that has held fast though is an interest in what people do for a living.  And not just what they do, but how do they do it and how do they get into that business and what personality traits are best suited for that job and and and…

So, that’s what this is all about.  It is my mission to find the unique, kooky, crazy jobs that are out there and find out what they are all about.  Everybody knows how to be a lawyer or a doctor, but how do you become a professional sports mascot?  If you are the guy who does sound at the golf tournament are you affiliated with a sport or with the network?  I always have questions and here I aim to answer them.

Gardener?

Gardener?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who knew you could get paid to do that?

  1. I love it! Reading it was my favorite part….until I got to the picture!

Leave a Reply

