Doing nothing…

Sometimes I don’t want to do” anything.  I need a job that doesn’t require me to go to work.  Trophy wife? Drug lord, maybe?  I don’t really know what that job is, but if it’s out there I’d like it.  You know when people say, “I’m not afraid of hard work”?  Well, I don’t always relate to that.  Don’t get me wrong, when something needs to be done I’ll do it.  I don’t mind working, per se, I just don’t want to have to go to work.  When my dad died, we spent weeks clearing out the house and getting my mom ready to come live with us.  It was hard work and emotionally draining, but I did it in my own sweet time.

However, when it comes to career/occupation I often find myself saying, “I don’t want to go to work today.”  I don’t know if it’s because I don’t like my job, or if it’s because I don’t like being “tied down.”  For several years I was a stay-at-home mom while my husband worked in the US Embassy in Berlin and again in Kuala Lumpur.  I loved this time.  I was full-on mom, and since the kids were in school I had time for myself.  Tennis, shopping, lunch with friends.  My house was always clean, the kids had a mom available at any moment, we had dinner at the table every night.  I was never happier.  There were times I wanted more money and possibly more prestige.

I’ve had ideas for different projects (books, movies, television shows), but no way of making them a reality as far as I could see.  Apparently being an “idea guy” isn’t really a job – at least not that I know of.  It’s more of an added duty to the existing job of being “rich guy.”  When I was a kid, I would watch stuff on television and think, “how hard can that be?”  Most often it was when I was watching something like speed skating or ski jumping.  As an adult I started to think about other things that way, “how hard could it be to get a tv show made?”  Apparently, much harder than you’d imagine.  I don’t know if I like being an adult if everything is going to be hard.

Why I won't be a drug lord.

Why I won’t be a drug lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

