My own little portal…

My cousin (first cousin once removed to be exact) called me on Friday to ask if I was doing anything this weekend because she and her best friend found cheap tickets from South Carolina to DC.  I told her to come on up – I could offer her a bed, breakfast and a ride to and from the city.  She’s one of those people who makes friends everywhere she goes.  She was telling me about a woman she’d met on the plane who is the Sustainability Coordinator for ESPN.  Now, I’m not sure I even know what that is, but the job title is amazing!  It seems to have something to do with keeping events “green” and making sure that people recycle.  It may not be my own dream job, but it does sound very interesting.

I think what interested me most about our conversation was when these two fantastic women said, “I wonder what it’s like to have a real job,” and “We should have done something other than teaching.”  They both teach special education and although I believe it to be one of the most amazing jobs anyone can have, I can completely understand getting burnt out or questioning your choice of career.  I still haven’t decided what I want to do, so my life is a constant question.  The more we talked though, I learned that my cousin wants to teach adults rather than kids.  I love that!  I have the great opportunity at times to teach Reserve and Guard units in the deployment cycle.  It really makes my soul sing.  I hope that my cousin can have the same kind of opportunity and that it has the same pay-off for her.  Her friend wants to be the “Martin Luther King, Jr. of prison reform.”  I believe if anyone can do it, it’s her!  I think what inspired her was watching documentaries and “Orange is the New Black.”  

I think it’s fantastic that television has become such a source of inspiration for people.  As someone who has spent a lot of time in front of the tv despite all the warnings that it’s not good for you, I think it has such potential for great knowledge and inspiration.  I believe that it completely opens up the world.  Dinner time conversations are most often triggered by someone sharing something they’ve learned from tv.  I think that’s why I love it so much and want to be a part of it.  So many times my kids will ask me something and I’ll answer with, “Oh, if only there was a television show that would answer our questions…”

Image

Ignore the creepy clown painting. I do love me some tv.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My own little portal…

  1. Mom says:

    You are such an inspiration to all you meet. May you never stop asking questions. You are such a shining example of lifelong learning. I love you!

Leave a Reply

