Mind/Body – getting back on track

My last post was all about my mental road block.  This weekend I hit a physical roadblock as I caught my son’s cold.  I hate being taken down.  I’m a multi-tasker and this weekend I couldn’t even manage one task at a time.  It was a major feat to get the boys sandwiches made for lunch.  I’m thankful for Chinese delivery, a husband who did all the laundry and kids who aren’t high maintenance.  I’m starting to feel better now.  I can breathe and my head isn’t pounding.  The fever still kind of comes and goes (or I’m having hot flashes – not sure which).

Before I started feeling icky, I went to my son’s back to school night at the middle school.  On the way over my husband and I had a nice talk about what I’d posted.  He felt bad that he couldn’t help me, but in reality, just being my sounding board helps.  I think I have a little more clearly defined plan of attack.

1.  I’m going to start a web series – as soon as I figure out how to do that.  I’m going to see if I can find people with interesting jobs willing to be interviewed by me.  I suppose it would be better if I had a camera person to do the camera work, but for now it might mean me and my Flip camera.

2.  I need to do a sizzle reel.  From what I gather, it’s a video representation of your pitch.  It gives development people a visual beyond what they could get from a treatment on paper.  I think the best way to do this is to advertise on the Virginia Film Office hotline for an unpaid opportunity for a crew.  I see it all the time, so why shouldn’t I be able to take advantage of it?  I can’t pay, but I can buy lunch.  It also provides someone with more stuff for their resume reel.

3.  I need to start connecting with people.  I made the joke a while ago that I make friends with the wrong people.  I tend to make friends with people I like instead of people I can use.  Finally my friends were starting to pay off.  The truth is, I’ve had the right kinds of friends all along, I just need to expand my acquaintance network and be willing to ask for favors.  I need to be able to give favors in return.

4.  Most importantly, I need to believe in myself again.  Self-doubt is a bitch.  I can’t let it deter me from what I really want to do.

Now – pass the tissues and let’s get this thing going!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

