Take a lesson…

This whole looming government shutdown thing has me so pissed off, I can’t see straight.  It just sends me into a rage that the people we trusted to speak for us are doing such a lousy job of it.  I’m not particularly political.  I’m a pretty liberal Democrat, but don’t broadcast it often.  I like to let people do their own thing and not get too worked up about what my neighbor believes.  I’m a live and let live kind of gal.  But this whole situation really burns my butt.

What gets me the most (besides the fact that government employees won’t get paid during the shutdown, but Congress will – they are the government!) is that there is no recourse for the American people.  Think about every other job in America.  If you don’t do your job, you are fired – or asked to resign.  There are mechanisms in place to replace people in every other job (except maybe Donald Trump – that man made a deal with the devil).  But what do you do when your Congressman isn’t doing his job?  What do you do if your Congress brings the country to its knees?  What do you do when your friends are threatened with IOU’s because their government expects them to put their lives on the line but can’t write the paycheck?

I personally think we, as a nation should make a pact to not re-elect any incumbents.  If you are thinking about running for office – this is your chance to make a real difference.  If you are already in office look for some real estate back home because we’re asking you to get out of Washington.

Now – on a completely different note.  I had the opportunity to go to a concert this past week.  Despite still fighting a terrible cold and cough, I got to see one of my absolutely favorite performers.  My favorite song in the world ever written is “You Are” by Lionel Richie.  To be able to see it performed live – and to be able to sing it to my dear husband – was one of the highlights of my life.

IMG_20130926_071723

It was also fun to see the fury of activity after the concert.  Let me tell you, those hardworking people had that entire stage disassembled and packed up in a very short amount of time.  It was truly amazing.  Everyone knew their job and did it.  It was so efficient and productive.  It made me wonder if perhaps our elected officials could stand to take a few lessons from Lionel Richie’s crew and the fine employees of the Patriot Center.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

