Day 8 of Operation “Get Fit” and I’m still shaped like a Lego person

Last week my daughter and I started a plan to get fit.  We decided that we want to be in shape, but still want to eat cookies – so we started going to the gym every weekday.  Mondays we play racquetball – and by play I mean we run around the court chasing a little blue ball or cower in the corner trying to avoid getting hit by said little blue ball.  My son has joined us for racquetball and we have a lot of fun working up a sweat for the hour.  Tuesdays we take the little son to Tumbling lessons at the gym and we hit the treadmill while he jumps and flips.  Wednesday is either treadmill or swimming. Thursday is racquetball again.  Friday is family swim day.

I’ve never been particularly active.  I went to college at the University of Maryland in Munich, Germany.  We walked to class every day (and if you lived in one of the out laying dorms you had to walk all the way around to get to the classrooms).  Also, I was taking performance classes, so there was a lot of dancing and moving.  I played racquetball then too – it’s a great way to get out whatever is stressing you.  And my friends and I went bowling once a week.  That was, by far, the most active I’ve ever been.  Then I got married and had three kids – my laziness slowly began to completely envelope me.  Now it’s time to get fit.  My father died of a heart attack at the age of 68.  I don’t want to follow in his footsteps.

Image

Maybe I can make some better health choices

Given that genetically I’m meant to be garden gnome shaped – and right now when I see myself in shorts and a t-shirt I feel like a Lego person – I don’t necessarily need to be Heidi Klum shaped (nor would that ever happen).  I think if I stood next to Heidi Klum it would look like the Green Giant and Sprout.  I’m content with healthy.

So – I started thinking about the Lego people.  I’ve been to Legoland and seen the “factory” where they make the Legos.  I remember my daughter being pretty excited by the free Lego at the end of the tour.  I’m more interested in the people who design the Lego sets.  How do you break down a Star Wars Tie Fighter into cube form?  How do you know what pieces to include?  It’s amazing to me that someone’s job is to boil some relatable object or pop culture reference down to it’s lowest common denominator so that we can rebuild it.  Perhaps Legos are just a metaphor for life.  Start with a firm foundation; build one block at a time; and celebrate the colorfulness of your world!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 8 of Operation “Get Fit” and I’m still shaped like a Lego person

  1. RageMichelle says:

    Hahaha…I get that..the whole lego person thing. Guess that’s better than a weeble? remember those?

Leave a Reply

