Grumpy old man…

I don’t know if it’s because I was doped up on pain killers due to sciatica, or if it was because I was tired – but the conversation I had last night with my dear husband sent me into a fit of the giggles…Keep in mind, I might have edited a bit – refer back to the “doped up…” part of this paragraph.

Q: I know you know how I feel about rolling suitcases, but what really gets me are the rolling briefcases.

Me: What?

Q: Rolling briefcases.  I mean, if you’re at an airport or whatever I can see where maybe…but I see people walking around Crystal City pulling these cases and it just…I mean just pick the damn thing up.  Steve McQueen would never pull a rolling briefcase.  Don Draper would never pull a rolling briefcase.

Me: Heehee – well of course, that’s just dumb.  I think rolling bags should be completely confined to airport or transportation of some sort.

Then there was some back and forth with our daughter which lead to…

Me: It sounds like “And don’t even get me started on…”

Q: But here I go.  People walking around looking at their cell phones.  I saw one guy looking at a Kindle while he walked through the mall.  I’ve already told you about the guys with their ties draped around their necks.  I saw one guy who was walking along tying his tie.  “Hey, buddy, where are you going to or coming from that you couldn’t do that at one or the other?”  He was like Superman in reverse.

That’s where I lost it and had to go to bed.  The thing is, my dear sweet husband is far too young to be a grumpy old man, but I see the tendencies in him…a lot.  It was funny to watch him on Halloween with the trick-or-treaters.  Nobody got candy if they didn’t ask for it the right way, and if you were a teenager in a pseudo-costume not only did you get the crappy candy, but you also got the stink-eye.  The kids get in trouble most often for speaking loudly during “Jeopardy.”  He’s been known to say, “That lawn isn’t going to mow itself.”

But, I love this part of my husband.  I love that he’s not afraid to parent someone else’s kids and that he has high expectations for not only our own kids, but for society as a whole.  Sadly, he’s often disappointed on that front, but he still has them.  He expects people around him to be informed…even if you aren’t very smart.  He makes me want to be a better person.  He makes me want to know more about what’s going on around me (even during the weeks I get my news from People magazine).  He makes me glad to co-parent with him because I know we are raising exceptional citizens…who will pick up their briefcases.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

