Christmas revolution…

Tomorrow my family will kick off the Christmas season by putting up the tree and decorating the house.  I love Christmas and all that goes with it.  Loads of good food, presents and fun, upbeat music playing everywhere I go; but mostly I love that people are nicer to each other.  It’s the only time of year that we make an effort to give to others – whether that be time, money or goods.  I don’t know if it’s a throw-back to when we were kids and we were coerced into good behavior in the hopes of getting presents from Santa, but people just act better this time of year.  Unlike the videos I’ve seen of Walmart, even my Black Friday experiences were pretty pleasant.  What is it that makes nice easy this time of year, but so difficult the rest of the year?  I’m not saying we all turn in to asses January 2nd, but we seem to be more patient on December 15th than July 15th.

My mom is the one who taught me to pay rent on the space I occupy.  My goal is to leave the world better than when I came into it.  I’m learning that one person can make a difference, but it takes more to give a revolution wheels.  How do you inspire others to follow your revolution?  How do you get others to buy in to what you are selling?  How do you convince the world that your way is better?

I want a return to niceness.  I want a return to a time when people used etiquette and respect was given, not demanded.  Over and over I see people with an exaggerated sense of entitlement.  I think that deep down most people have the same basic ideology, we have just gotten lost in this idea that we are somehow owed something.  Or alternatively, we’re upset that someone else is getting something we don’t have.  When I was working for a community center on a military base in Germany, we’d have events and I’d give a kid a balloon (or some other doo-dad).  There was always that one kid who would instead of saying “thank you” would say, “can I have a blue one?”  Why are we no longer thankful for what we get?

I’m certainly not pointing fingers here.  Believe me, I can be plenty not nice.  But I’d love to see us as a society remember that sometimes it’s better to be kind than right.  Politically, we’ve become so polarized we’ve forgotten the community we want to be and focus on being the one in power.  We want the blue balloon that the other kid has.  We’ve gotten away from working together and started to work to ensure the failure of someone we don’t agree with.  Who wins there?

Tomorrow is my mom’s birthday.  I want to give her the gift of a revolution.  I want her to know that I’m not only paying rent, but I’m upgrading the fixtures as well!  So, be nice to each other!  Give someone a hand…open a door (literally and figuratively)…smile…and be thankful for what you get!

Image

Christmas when I was about 4th grade. I loved that fiber optic lamp. One of my favorite gifts ever.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas revolution…

  1. Pingback: And so this is Christmas . . . – Smart Stunning Searching

Leave a Reply

