The magic conch…

There’s a Spongebob episode where Spongebob, Squidward and Patrick are stranded in the middle of nowhere.  The only thing they have with them is a magic conch shell that’s a lot like a talking magic 8-ball.  Spongebob and Patrick ask the magic conch what they should do and it tells them, “Nothing.”  Squidward goes cuckoo bananas that they are listening to this “stupid toy” and doing nothing.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about my life and how I’ve gotten where I am now.  It seems strange to say that things have, with rare exception, just come to me.  Nearly everything I’ve tried to make happen hasn’t come to fruition.  But when I sit back and do nothing – going with the flow – I have great things happen.  It seems counter intuitive to just let the world happen around you when everyone tells you the way to be successful is to go out and grab what you want.  If you want something bad enough you’ll find a way to get it.  Set goals and make them happen!  What if the secret to my success is to be appreciative of what I get?  What if I just be the best “me” I can be instead of trying to mold myself into some idealistic vision of what I think I should be?

That’s not to say I don’t want more in life.  It’s going to sound shallow, but I have always dreamed of living a wealthy life.  And I’m not counting the riches of friends and family – that I have in spades!  I’ve wanted to be “rich” my whole life.  My family has always been middle of the road.  We are about as middle class as you get.  My parents were hard workers.  Dad was an enlisted sailor and Mom a nurse.  We’ve had the average house and car; never the newest or the one with the most buttons.  We drank Dixie cola from Winn Dixie instead of Coke or Pepsi to save money, but then my mom saved the pennies for a trip to Disney World.  

Image

Disney World

My mom and dad set goals and worked towards them.  We’ve had amazing adventures and opportunities because we’ve always valued experience over material goods.  We’ve tried to pass that same value to our kids.  I’d love to be able to afford to expose my kids to as much culture and rich experiences as possible.  I’d also like to have a Porsche 911.  

I guess the question is, do I work hard in pursuit of a dream that will (if history is correct) most likely not come true; or do I go along with life and be happy with what I get?  I don’t think I’m being self-defeating.  I have experience that says, “you don’t know what your destiny is…let me take over here.”  If I’m meant to have the Porsche, it will happen, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

