New Year…

I have always loved New Years.  Not for the parties or music or yelling.  Ever since I was a small child I’ve loved the count down that leads you to that one magical moment.  4-3-2-1 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!  Then you’re in the second that is the next year.  For one tiny fraction of time, you can allow yourself to be totally caught up in the hope and optimism of the unknown.  So much possibility and a whole year to fulfill it.  No other moment in the entire year has so much potential.  I love it.

This year I looked at my friends’ and family’s Facebook pages.  Over and over I’ve seen a recurring theme.  “Let’s hope 2015 is better than 2014”  – “2014 was a challenge, looking forward to 2015.”  Last night as we were winding down the last minutes of the year, I received a message from someone very dear to me (my daughter’s best friend, whom we have declared our 2nd daughter) that her mother had passed away on the 28th.  I went into the New Year heartbroken.  I watched people in Times Square kiss and celebrate and enjoy that moment – that special moment; as I thought that my sweet 18 year-old loved one had been robbed of that moment this year.  She’s walking into a 2015 without a mom – a woman who knew EVERYTHING, but not in a bad way, a woman who was bigger than life and equally generous. She’s looking at a whole year of a emptiness.

So this year, I’m offering her a new New Year.  Let’s celebrate Chinese New Year this year, baby girl.  I’ll count down with you and together we’ll take that second to imagine the possibilities.  We’ll take on the world together.  We’ll make resolutions to do things we have no intention of keeping.  We’ll toast mama one and know that we’ll step into the year of the sheep with a guardian angel looking over you.

For everyone else…I hope that 2015 is better than 2014, regardless of whether or not you’ve had a challenging year.  I hope that 2015 sees the fruition of millions of magical moments.  And I hope that as we countdown to 2016 I hear, “I hope this year is as great as last year was!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

